Keep me where the light is

In an effort to divert my current thoughts and overwhelming emotions, I am going to remind myself of the amazing experience I had a few nights ago. It was one of those moments where I just wanted to say, “Time, stop right now. Stop moving. Don’t go anywhere. Just hold everything just the way it is.” Fortunately, I have had several moments in my life where I have wanted to tell Time to stop.

Stars scattered across the dark night sky and beautiful blues filled the air. When I managed to tear myself away from the beautiful sight of John Mayer standing in front of that mic and strumming his guitar as if he had the innate talent to move his fingers at the speed of light, I could see the big dipper sitting there, amongst other constellations I have yet to learn. My heart and my whole body became so full at that moment. Everything was absolutely perfect. But wait. I don’t know how it happened, but things managed to get even better. Better than perfect? How could it be? He played “Gravity”. And in that split moment when his voice entertwined with the melody of his guitar, I knew that life couldn’t get much better than this.

And I owe the totality of my experience to this girl, who was willing to come with me to the concert even though I sprung it on her that morning. The girl who sang with me at the top of her lungs and danced the night away.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment